Risk of transmission of virus from dogs chewing balls of other households in public spaces. Please share

8 posts
GuyD73
Options:
Share this post on:

Risk of transmission of virus from dogs chewing balls of other households in public spaces. Please share

Postby GuyD73 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:21 pm

We’ve been taking our daily exercise on Wandsworth Common north side and by and large people are being really sensible and keeping the two metres distance. However, this is all potentially undermined by some allowing their dogs to run around freely, inevitably chewing the balls of children from other families playing. I saw this happen multiple times this week to people playing cricket with tennis balls and our rugby and footballs got slobbered on. I'd also add that many responsible owners were keeping their dogs on leads.

Now I’m not a medical professional but if this virus is passed by droplet and physical contact, then doesn’t seem unreasonable to imagine someone coughing on their hand, transferring it to their dog’s nose/mouth, and then virus being transferred from ball to child.

Wandsworth Council may have had that in mind when issuing these instructions on WW common, so can you please ask anyone without their dog on a lead to use one please?  If they refuse I think it needs reporting to local police, not to punish anyone but to ensure that all our behaviours are changed to help us stay safe. Not blaming anyone btw but it does seem a fairly logical way to stop transmission, though to be fair to people, there’s been nothing I’ve seen in govt guidelines and this is the first local notice I’ve come across, so we really need to spread the word. Please post this pic on your social media and other local groups. Thanks and stay safe

PS. If anyone has heard medical advice about this from an informed source, I'd love to hear about it. 
Attachments
dog caution wandsworth.jpg
Gingerfizz
Options:
Share this post on: