Architect - to create extra space

3 posts
urbanblossom
Options:
Share this post on:

Architect - to create extra space

Postby urbanblossom » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:21 pm

Hi Nappy Valley

I'm looking for someone with expertise (doesn't have to be a fully fledged architect) to come into my home, look at my floorpan and work out whether the space could be used in a better way. I'm trying to figure out how I can create a utility room, a downstairs loo, and make the family bathroom considerably bigger. A small basement will probably be part of this but I'd like the upstairs looked at too. Any ideas anyone? Thanks! x
Crystaltips74
Options:
Share this post on:

Re: Architect - to create extra space

Postby Crystaltips74 » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:40 am

Hi Urbanblossom

Please for give the direct self-referral, but I would love to help you if I can.

Space planning family homes is my passion, and I have been doing so for over 10 years with my company (olbc.co.uk). As you suggest, I am not a qualified architect (I use one for surveys and plan mark ups), but I am an interior designer with a very hands-on understanding of construction through my company, and therefore my designs are naturally cost-engineered from the outset.

I have designed dozens of basements & other extensions, as well as entire house redesign, and technical considerations including space planning / problem solving and designing kitchens, bathrooms etc is a particular strength of mine. I also studied at the Architectural Association in the Conservation of Historic Buildings and so I can assess older period properties and make the most of what they have to offer, as well as modernising for 21C life. My ethos is to extend and remodel period homes to maximise their original elegance and ensure contemporary additions still compliment rather than fight the existing.