Newton Prep school reception 2019

3 posts
pati21
Options:
Share this post on:

Newton Prep school reception 2019

Postby pati21 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:01 pm

Hi all, I'm new to nappy valley! My DS is due to start reception this coming September at Newton Prep school. Was wondering if any current NP parents could give me some feed back about the school? We love the school but keep hearing the term academically ambitious and for bright children. Does that applies for reception as well? Don't really mind academically ambitious but wondering if the school is also nurturing. Also he isn't attending NP nursery, so he will be starting from reception. Anyone out there also starting from their reception and not from their nursery?
Thank you so much for your help.
Southsider
Options:
Share this post on:

Re: Newton Prep school reception 2019

Postby Southsider » Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:13 am

My daughter is in Year 1 at NP and we love it.  I'd say that it is academically ambitious, but I certainly didn't feel that in Reception which was a good mix of fun and learning.  More so this year which is definitely a step up, but the kids seem well supported through it. They try and get them a year ahead of where they should be so there is time to 'prep' for senior schools come that time but I imagine this is the case for most independents these days?  It's buzzy - there's lots of extra curricular stuff and some amazing facilities too.  We also didn't go to the nursery but that was the same for around 50% of the kids in our class so your DS won't be the only one.  Good luck for September, I'm sure you will be reassured as soon as you start.