Testing for autism

7 posts
jellybean76
Options:
Share this post on:

Testing for autism

Postby jellybean76 » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:15 am

Hi

I have a 23 month old daughter and my mother in law has said several times she thinks she may have aspergers. I have no experience or knowledge of this so wouldn't know what to look for. Has anyone out there had their baby tested for autism?
silviahm
Share this post on:

Re: Testing for autism

Postby silviahm » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:21 am

Go straight to the National Autistic Society - www.autism.org.uk - they will give you good expert advice rather than trying to find an Educational Psychologist, as your little one is too little for that. The autism society will know where to go and how to get a real result if one is possible at this age.

They have been really helpful for a good friend of mine.
Sx
silviahm
Share this post on:

Postby silviahm » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:40 pm

Sorry I've gone straight to the practicalities and have ignored the emotional. However you feel about it now, you're biggest thing is "she might not be" so rather than torturing yourself of what may or may not be, I would really recommend going to the nub of the problem. At this age it may not be clear either way, but your MIL must have a reason for saying this yet she may be wrong, she may be right.

If she is wrong, there is nothing in the world better than saying to your MIL, you're wrong (in the nicest possible way of course).

Equally if she is right, the sooner you know the better you can deal with it both for you and for your daughter.

Hope this helps
Good luck
Sx
claireread
Options:
Share this post on:

Postby claireread » Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:22 pm